· 

Prayer Quotes

Image for the Article Entitled, “Prayer Quotes”

The article provides a list of quotes about prayer and praying. To pray is quite important in the lives of Christians. To quote Mike Pompeo, he said: “We should pray. That’s the first of all things.” St. Paul, Mahatma Gandhi, John Hagee, Max Lucado and St. Theresa of Avila tell us the essentiality of prayer and praying, and Steve Scalise gives an account of the power of prayer during a tragic moment in his life.

“To pray is to allow God to love you.” – Alex Moises

“We should pray. That’s the first of all things.” – Mike Pompeo

“To pray is to allow God to love you.” – Alex Moises

 

“Pray the Lord’s Prayer. Jesus gave us this prayer to let us know that there is real power in His Word.” – Alex Moises

 

“Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.” – Angels’ Gloria in Excelsis Deo in Luke’s Gospel; Luke 2:14

 

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.” – Author Unknown; The Jesus Prayer

 

“Prayer is a powerful force when it’s in agreement with God’s Word and with other believers.” – John Hagee

 

“To intercede is to plead or make a request on behalf of another, or others. Jesus sits at the right hand of God, the Father, daily pleading and making requests on our behalf.” – John Hagee

 

“I have good news—from the very beginning, God intended prayer to be an easy, natural way to stay connected with Him all day, every day.” – Joyce Meyer

 

“I want to encourage you moving forward to make prayer your first response in every situation.” – Joyce Meyer

 

“Prayer is not an old woman’s idle amusement. Properly understood and applied, it is the most potent instrument of action.” – Mahatma Gandhi

 

“Our prayers may be awkward. Our attempts may be feeble. But since the power of prayer is in the one who hears it and not in the one who says it, our prayers do make a difference.” – Max Lucado

“We should pray. That’s the first of all things.” – Mike Pompeo 

“… the power of prayer is just something that you cannot underestimate.” – Steve Scalise

“We should pray. That’s the first of all things. I feel prayers. I get notes from people who say they’re praying for me. I can feel it. My wife, my son, we all appreciate it.” – Mike Pompeo

 

“Our ability to pray – anytime and anywhere – is a fundamental right… We MUST protect everyone’s right to prayer.” – Mike Pompeo

 

“Come, Holy Spirit, Creator blest, and in our souls take up Thy rest; come with Thy grace and heavenly aid to fill the hearts which Thou hast made.” – Rabanus Maurus; Line from Veni Creator

 

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” – Reinhold Niebuhr

 

“… the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise them up.” – St. James in James of the Bible; James 5:15

 

“The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.” – St. James in James of the Bible; James 5:16

 

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – St. Paul in 1 Thessalonians of the Bible; 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

 

“And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.” – St. Paul in Ephesians of the Bible; Ephesians 6:18

 

“His Majesty knows our wretchedness and the weakness of our nature better than we ourselves and He knows that all the time these souls are longing to think of Him and to love Him. It is this determination that He desires in us.” – St. Teresa of Avila

 

“… it is well that prayer should not always be given up when the mind is greatly distracted and disturbed….” – St. Teresa of Avila

“When I was laying out on that ball field, the first thing I did once I was down and I couldn’t do anything anymore, I just started to pray and I tell you it gave me an unbelievable sense of calm knowing that at that point it was in God’s hand but I prayed for very specific things… and they were some pretty challenging prayers I was putting in God’s hand but he really did deliver for me and my family, and it just give you that renewed faith in understanding the power of prayer is just something that you cannot underestimate. So I am definitely a living example that miracles really do happen.” – Steve Scalise

[Congressman Steve was gunned down by a fanatic in politics during a congressional baseball practice in 2017. At present, Congressman Steve is serving the American public as representative for the 1st District of Louisiana in the US Congress. He has served the American public since 2008.]

“To pray is to allow God to love you.” – Alex Moises

“We should pray. That’s the first of all things.” – Mike Pompeo

A Prayer by Alex Moises

“Thank you, Lord Jesus Christ, for this day for today I praise God the Father and God the Holy Spirit. Thank you, Lord, for this day for today I beg for God’s mercy and love. Thank you, Lord, for this day for today I offer my life to you. Thank you, Lord Jesus Christ for today – thank you because of you.”

 

A Prayer by Jesus

“Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.” (Matthew 6:9-13)

 

A Prayer by Jonah

“When my life was ebbing away, I remembered you, Lord, and my prayer rose to you, to your holy temple. Those who cling to worthless idols turn away from God’s love for them. But I, with shouts of grateful praise, will sacrifice to you. What I have vowed I will make good. I will say, ‘Salvation comes from the Lord.’” (Jonah 2:7-9)

 

A Prayer by Mike Pompeo

“O God our Father, thou searcher of men’s heart, help us to draw near to the sincerity and truth. May our religion be filled with gladness, and may our worship of thee be natural.”

 

A Prayer by Rabanus Maurus; Lines from Veni Creator

“Come, Holy Spirit, Creator blest, and in our souls take up Thy rest; come with Thy grace and heavenly aid to fill the hearts which Thou hast made.”

 

Note: The Bible verses in this article can be found on Bible Gateway website. Use the search box with the Bible verse numbers as keywords. The “default” Bible is NIV, but there is a selection of Bible translations one can use.